When you connect with a prospect or customer on a phone call, certain conversations may benefit from having an additional team member or manager on the call.
Adding a Participant to a call allows you to bring someone from your team into an ongoing conversation, i.e. team member, manager...etc. Whether you need backup during a call or want to loop in a subject matter expert to answer specific questions, you can click the Add Participant button on the Dialer to bring them in.
Once added, you can transfer the call to them if needed, and the call will continue even after you log off.
You can add participants to any Salesloft call, whether outbound or inbound, using Pass Through, LocalDial, the Salesloft app, or Salesloft Connect.
In this article, you will learn how to add a participant to a call. This article includes:
Before you add a participant to a call, here are a few things you should know:
- To add a participant to a call, you and your team member must both have Salesloft accounts with access to the Salesloft Dialer.
- You must be logged into your Salesloft account.
- Your Chrome browser must be live. You may exit out of the Chrome browser, but if you “Quit” or shut down, the calls will not operate.
- Make sure your Chrome Notifications are enabled.
- Your microphone must be enabled within the extension in order to accept the call as a participant in your Chrome window.
Adding a participant to your call is as simple as selecting a name from a drop down menu. When you would like to bring a team member into your call, you can select your collaborator once your call is connected.
To add a team member to your call, follow these steps:
- Open the Dialer.
- Enter the phone number you would like to call. You can also use the Person tab to find a Person to call.
- Begin Hit Begin your Call: Enter the phone number you would like to call. You can also use the Person tab to find a Person to call..Hit Call
- Select “Add Participant” button: Select the Add Participant icon at the top of the dialer. A participant menu will appear directly above the dialer.
- Use the dropdown menu to find and select the team member you wish to add to the call.
- Click “Add to Call”:. A green notification will appear above the dialer to let you know that Salesloft is calling that team member.
Once the team member joins the call, the Dialer will expand with the On the Call section. This will show your name and the team member that joined the call.
While you are on the line, the call will function just like any conference line.
When someone on your team adds you to a call, you will see a Chrome notification in the upper right corner of your computer screen. This notification will appear similar to a normal call notification.
If you join a call initiated by another Salesloft team member, you are the call participant. Your leg of the call will operate through the Salesloft Dialer, allowing you to log call notes and manage the call from your Google Chrome window.
To join a call as a participant, follow these steps:
- When your team member calls, a Chrome notification will appear in the upper right corner of your computer screen.
- Click Options.
- Select Accept. Another tab will open in your Google Chrome window with the Dialer opened.
- Run your call.
- There are two options to end the call:
- Click Leave Call to hang up your line of the call.
- Click End to the right of your team member’s name to end their leg of the call. This will transfer the call to your line, and you can continue the conversation.
- Log any notes in the Dialer window.
- Find the Salesloft Person and log notes.
Ok, let’s walk through a scenario. You’re on a call with a lead that is ready to close the deal as soon as possible (an ideal situation for all). Rather than saying that you will send the lead’s contact info to a sales executive, the better use of everyone’s time would be to pass the call right at that moment.
When situations like this arise, you can transfer the call to a team member.
To transfer a call, follow these steps:
- Begin your call.
- Add your team member to the call (this can be at the start of the call or during the call itself).
- Once you and another Salesloft teammate are on a call, one of you can leave and the call will continue.
- The call will end when the last Salesloft team member leaves the call. Don’t forget to log your call notes.
Call Collaboration Logs
Any Salesloft team member who participated in the call can log their activity afterward. Calls using Call Collaboration appear on The Calls Page, with each call leg designated by the group icon (three people) next to the team member's name.