Groove Flow Owner Transfer
This feature allows manual transfers of specific people in Flows to other teammates from the People Tab in Flows.
Each user shared on a Master Flow is reaching out to different sets of contacts and leads within those Flows. Sometimes, there might be a change in process, in Salesforce, or a user may leave the company. When any of those things happen, your company may still want someone to reach out to the contacts/leads in the Master Flow belonging to the person that left or moved into a new role.
There are a few other ways to transfer contacts/leads within Flows, but this doc will focus specifically on the manual method within the Flow > People Tab.
Use Cases
-
If certain contacts in a Flow are reassigned to another user, they can be transferred manually.
-
If an employee is on holiday for some period of time, the contacts/leads in their master Flow can be transferred to another user until they are back.
-
If territories are reassigned in Salesforce, contacts/leads can be transferred in master flows to accommodate those changes.
Pre-requisites
-
To transfer contacts and leads to other users from the People Tab, the Flow must be a Master Flow
-
For any user in that org to show up in the list of users to transfer to, they must be shared on that Master Flow. This can be shared directly with that user, with a team they’re on, or shared with the entire organization. Learn to share Flows here.
-
To transfer specific contacts/leads to another user, you must have either added those contacts/leads into the Flow, or you must be the user who is managing those contacts/leads in the Flow. Learn about adding people to Flows.
How To Transfer
These steps assume you have created a Master Flow and have shared that Flow with the right teammates and have imported contacts to that Flow. If you haven't done these things, follow instructions in these articles:
- Create a Master Flow, and —
- Share it with users
- Import all the contacts you want in that Master Flow from Groove, import from a CSV, or Auto Import
If you're ready to Transfer contacts, follow these steps:
- Go to Flows and open the Master Flow you want to transfer to another owner
- Click the People Tab at the top
- At the top left of the Master Flow, change the dropdown menu to "All Steps" and uncheck the box just below that menu for “My People Only” so that you can see all people across the entire flow:

3. Now, check the specific contacts/leads you’d like to transfer to another user, and click "Change Owner" at the top:

4. Select a user to whom you’d like to transfer the selected contacts/leads.
5. Once the people are transferred, contacts remain at the exact same step in the Master Flow that they were already in. Their due dates, steps, etc all remain the exact same, and the new owner can pick up where the old owner left off.
Note: If there are multiple email steps in the flow, and the “include in thread” checkbox is selected, threads do not remain intact when transferring contacts/leads to another user. The reason for this is that after a user transfer, the email is being sent out from a completely separate user/inbox and there is no way to connect to a thread from another user