Hierarchy Management
Overview
Your organization's CRM hierarchy is a central piece of the Clari platform. The hierarchy is used to navigate the application and ensure that you're looking at the correct data. For example, the hierarchy can be used to navigate up and down your sales organization from the VP of sales all the way down to individual sales reps.
Clari uses the hierarchy as configured in Salesforce. However, the hierarchy in Salesforce oftentimes includes roles that are superfluous to the sales organization (eg. "Integration" or "CFO") or names that aren't easily understandable.
Note: The hierarchy is a key feature and is leveraged throughout all of the platforms in Clari. Please read these instructions carefully and ensure that you've understood the "Important Notes" outlined below.
This article will walk you through accessing hierarchy management, editing the hierarchy, and some important considerations to keep in mind when you're editing your hierarchy.
Accessing Hierarchy Management
Access to Hierarchy Management is restricted to users with Advanced Ops Admin permissions. You can learn more about the different admin permission levels here.
To access Hierarchy Management:
- Go to Studio in the top right corner (next to your name). This icon only appears to users with Admin permissions.
- By default, you're taken to the User Management Admin Module. Click the menu (three horizontal lines) in the top left.
- Click Hierarchy Management.
Editing the Hierarchy
Renaming Roles
Renaming is only available for Roles.
To rename a role/node:
- Select the checkboxes nodes that you'd like to rename.
- From the Action menu (top right), select Rename, or hover your mouse over the role name and click the Edit Node button.
- In the pop-up window, add the new name for the role and click Save.
Note: If you've renamed a node, you can revert it to it's original name as it exists in your CRM by clicking Revert to Salesforce Role Name (blue text) in the edit window:

Hiding Roles and Users
To hide one or more roles and/or users:
- Select all relevant roles and user checkboxes in the hierarchy.
- From the Action Drop-down, select Hide this Node or Hide this Node and Child Nodes.
Alternatively, you can hover your mouse over the role name and click the Edit Node button and choose Hide this node and choose whether or not you also want to hide child nodes.
Selecting Hide this Node will simply hide the selected node but not the children. For example, if you have a hierarchy set up like the following:
Hiding the VP West node without hiding its child nodes will essentially collapse the West Rep role to report to the VP NAM role.
Hiding the VP West role and its child nodes will hide both the VP West node and West Rep node. This option is perfect for when you want to hide entire sections of the hierarchy that are note relevant to your sales organization.
Key Considerations
As noted above, the hierarchy is central to the Clari platform and will affect all users. All changes are immediately reversible, but it's important to understand what you're doing, specifically when hiding roles or users.
Hiding a role or user simply removes that role or user from the hierarchy, but does not affect the data. In other words, if you hide a user that owns $1M in opportunities, that $1M will still be counted. So for example, when grouping by role hierarchy, you may notice that the "All" number does not equal the sum of the children. This is likely because you hid a user or role that contains the difference.
It's also important to note that if a user is opted into Forecast, they will always show up in Forecast whether or not they're been hidden in the hierarchy. If you wish to remove a user from Forecast, you must opt them out.