Guidelines for Deactivating Users in Clari
Overview
This article will walk you through a few best practices and considerations for removing users from Clari when they leave your sales team. If you simply need steps for revoking a user's access to Clari, check out our article on User Management: Revoking Access.
Revoking Access from Clari
As soon as a user leaves the company and you deactivate the user in Salesforce, the user cannot see any data in Clari at all.
When you deactivate a user in Salesforce, it's best to make sure that you leave that user in the same Salesforce Role. Do not move that user into a separate role for "inactive" users.
If a user is deactivated in Salesforce, Clari will update your User Management during the next user management refresh cycle (~15-30 mins).
Otherwise, If you would like to update user permissions immediately, you can still follow these instructions to update a user's Clari Account Status in Clari Admin - User Management and completely revoke the user's access from Clari.
Opportunity Module & Dashboard Considerations
When you deactivate a user in Salesforce and revoke access from Clari, you will still be able see deals owned by that user.
If you use the Salesforce Role Hierarchy:
As long as you keep the deactivated users in the same Salesforce Role, there will be no impact to the Opportunities and Dashboard modules.
For example, if Dan (Bay Area Enterprise rep) leaves the company, and Jane (Bay Area Enterprise sales manager) runs a view for all deals won last quarter, Jane will still be able to see the deals that Dan won. If Jane runs a view for all deals that are open for the quarter and Dan still owns open deals, she will see those deals in Clari and can transfer ownership.
If you use the Salesforce Territory Hierarchy:
The deals owned by reps who leave will still remain in the territories they belong to and there will be no impact at all to the Opportunity and Dashboard modules.
Forecasting Considerations
Revoking a user's access from Clari does NOT remove the user from Forecasting. This behavior is intentional, and allows you to keep the user in Forecasting as a placeholder until you've hired a backfill.
When you are ready to remove the user from Forecasting, follow the instructions here.
Regardless of whether or not you leave a deactivated user opted into the Forecasting module, the deals for that user will still be accounted for.
If you leave the user opted into Forecasting after the user has been deactivated in Salesforce, you will see the deals for that user in the Forecasting module under that user's name.
Example:
- Let's say James is no longer active in Salesforce, you've revoked his Clari access, but you've left him in Forecasting. You will still see the deals he won in the current quarter show up as closed under his name.
- If James has any open deals under his name still, you would see them show up under James for the related opportunities of the different fields (as long as they meet the other filter criteria).

If you remove the user from Forecasting after the user has been deactivated in Salesforce, you will still see the deals, but they will show up under the manager of that user.
Example:
- Let's say Scott is no longer active in Salesforce, you've revoked his Clari access, and you've removed him from Forecasting. The deals he won in the current quarter will still show up under Rebecca, who's Scott's manager.
- If Scott has any open deals under his name still, you would see them show up in Rebecca's row for the related opportunities of the different fields (as long as they meet the other filter criteria).

Analytics Considerations
As long as you leave the deactivated user in the same Salesforce Role, the historical deals for the user will be accounted for.